A Farmer’s Market, A Birthday, and More Food Shopping

This weekend was just a whoooole lotta eating. It sucks but at the same time I’m not super torn up about most of it. I enjoyed pretty much everything I ate and it’s not like it was all double chocolate fudge cake or anything within that vicinity of food types for the most part so it’s all good.

Saturday

Because I knew I had eaten quite a bit the day before, I wanted to keep this morning’s breakfast light. So I had a bowl of fruit with yogurt, along with an iced coffee.

I must have made my iced coffee pretty heavy on the caffeine though because shortly after I was shaking so badly. I think the combo of the light substanced breakfast plus the large caffeine dose was overkill. I knew I had to get something more substantial into me to stop the shakes so I went for a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin. Perfect. It did just the trick and I was feeling fine almost immediately.

Look at that beauty basking in the sunlight.

I didn’t work this Saturday, which is a first in a long time, so my mom and I went to the local farmer’s market, which we haven’t done in ages. This place is packed with food, oh so much food. So much delicious food at that. The danger zones are the inside food vendors and the big long tables filled with fresh baked goods. We were dangerously close to buying a gigantic raspberry roll thing covered in thick gooey icing but I forced myself away from it. This is part of what we picked up there.

We’re bread junkies. I cannot resist fresh bread. So we got a lot of bready items.
The first picture includes:
– A big doughy loaf of some of the best bread I have ever tasted. I don’t even know what kind it was but the loaf was huge and chewy and great and is now almost gone only one day later
– A small loaf of veggie bread
– Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch Granola Cereal (Only $2! This stuff is usually $4-5 at the grocery store)
– Chili Sauce
– Red Pepper Jelly
– Baba Ganoush
– Extra Old Cheddar (I hardly ever eat cheddar but I just had to have this one. I’m a sucker for old cheddar and the samples they had out were delicious. So I’ll try to eat this one sparingly…)
– Focaccia Bread with greek toppings
– An apple square
We also got that bag of mixed peppers, tomatoes, plums and nectarines. But the majority of our haul is not the healthiest… but gee was it all tasty stuff.

I started off with some fresh bread and cheese. Then I had more fresh bread dipped in the baba.

Then I had some of the focaccia with some chili sauce for dipping.

Then I had some of the apple square, which I soon decided to heat and put into milk. It was good but a little too sweet. It reminded me of an apple crumb pudding that my mom makes, but I like the one she makes a lot better.

Yeah, that IS a heck of a lot of food. When dinner rolled around I was only slightly hungry and very carb full, so I opted for a bowl of veggies. But I’m pretty sure I also had some bread while getting this together.

Then I wanted to try one of the lovely looking fresh plums we bought.

Lovely looking but not so lovely tasting. It was mushy and unflavourful. I ate a few bites and then tossed it. I hope the entire batch isn’t this bad but I have a feeling they might be.

Later on I had a friend’s birthday to go to. It started off with a barbecue and I wasn’t hungry so I resisted the meat skewers. I did have a couple tortilla chips dipped in peanut sauce. And some alcohol. And then later when the raspberry cheesecake was introduced I was in trouble. A giant plate of cheesecake plus a lack of resistance from alcoholic influence = trouble. I had several large bites of cheesecake. And then I dug into the crappy McCain frozen cake because it was sitting there. And then I decided it would be wise to dip pretzels into the cheesecake. Yeah. SO wise.

We didn’t even end up making it to the bar we were planning on going to because by the time we actually got up and moving from the backyard the night was almost over. I did get some walking in though which might have burned off a couple of the cake bites… ugh. I also did a good doubled up workout in the afternoon though to compensate for some of the bread consumption. And as I said, most of the stuff tasted great, so I can’t sit here with too much regret.

Sunday

Today I wanted to try eating really cleanly because of yesterday’s carb and junk overload. So breakfast was about a 1/2 cup of cottage cheese and a big plate of fruit: an apple, a nectarine, grapes and strawberries.

Then I remembered my newly purchased cereal, so I had a couple small handfuls.

And I had a half coffee/half light hot chocolate drink.

A little while into the morning I was about to do a workout but was feeling a little hungry. I tried to ignore the hunger but it, combined with a pb and banana craving, overpowered me. So I had half a frozen banana mashed up with some white chocolate peanut butter.

This tasted MUCH more appetizing than it looks.

I did a really good hour long Tae bo bootcamp workout. Then I had lunch, which was a bowl of veggies with Goddess dressing, and a piece of the focaccia with baba ganoush and chili sauce on top.

Then my mom and I went and did grocery shopping. Like we really needed MORE food, but whatever. We also did a quick bulk food store run because my mom wanted something chocolate. So she got Clodhoppers (chocolate covered granola things) and we snacked on a few of those in the car.
Then I finished up the last of an old hummus container with some bread. I also had some slightly thawed frozen berries.

Then dinner time arrived so I finished off the last of some tofu in half of a small tortilla with chili sauce, dijonnaise and spinach. I also had some baby carrots with dijonnaise.

We bought these vanilla flax cookies at the grocery store, so I tried half of one. Slightly crunchy and slightly chewy at the same time, with a very subtle vanilla flavour. I was decently impressed.

Enough so to go back for the second half. That I topped with a raspberry.

Then, because I noticed the raspberries were nice and big with holes perfect for stuffing, I decided to be brilliant and stuff em with some fat free capuccino ice cream. I think I had two stuffed. Plus a few more bites of ice cream all on its own.

And once again, lots of food was eaten today. At least there were slightly less carbs than yesterday though, and the majority was pretty healthy.
What a weekend.

8 thoughts on “A Farmer’s Market, A Birthday, and More Food Shopping

  1. I want to go to your farmers market. The ones around here definitely do not have all the baked goods that yours must have. Just the normal fruit and veggies. Your focaccia looks so good.

  2. FIrst of all , there is nothing on this planet more amazing than pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. Oh man. And good for you for realizing that you needed to eat- shakes are no good. THough you felt like you at a lot this weekend, most of it (esp farmer’s market stuff) was fresh and nourishing. There is nothing like fresh bread. That’s what weekends are for, right?

  3. Um, wow. Can I just say that I would really like it if you would send me some of that bread? K thanks ;)

    That ice cream-stuffed raspberry idea is absolutely genius!

  4. I dont know if this is an actual profession, but you should be a food phtographer. like for a magazine or something. theres a very artistic touch to all of your pictures. like the lighting and junk. im an expert, cant you tell?

Leave a Reply

