Oh Snacky Day

Another one of them lovely snack on whatever days. I couldn’t even fully keep track of all the little bites here and there. Ah well. It happens. I think this week is just snacky week. Next week I’ll crack down.

I played tennis today! There is a tennis court somewhat near our house so my brother and I went out this morning. Yeah I suck. I went to tennis camp once… in grade 6. That’s the last time I played. I’m 20 now. So it’s been a little while. And plus, I even sucked at the end of tennis camp. So clearly I haven’t magically improved over the years. We played for about an hour and by the end of that time we had at least managed to hit the ball back and forth a few times without it flying way over our heads, across the court etc etc. All that sprinting after the ball was quite the workout though, I felt like I was running suicides half the time. My tennis skills definitely need some improvement but I’m hoping to get out and play again soon, it was pretty fun stuff.

For breakfast I had a great bowl of oatmeal. It had oats, wheatberries, half a banana and fresh homemade rhubarb jam. I LOVE this stuff, I could eat it by the spoonful. Heck, I DID eat it by the spoonful. Well, at least by the tiny spoonful, I had to practice SOME resistance. So good though, I could mix this stuff into anything. It’s amazing on toast, I should have that tomorrow!
\

And of course I had an iced coffee. The addiction is getting a little scary.

I think starting the day off with snacking though is what sets up the rest of the day as a snacking day. Before I even made my oatmeal I had half of a pumpkin muffin, some leftover pasta from last night and a cup of green tea. OH and I also snacked on some dry cereal (Raisin Bran and Guardian) after the oatmeal. Great.

For lunch I had more leftover pasta and a big bowl of salad with balsamic vinaigrette and dijonnaise. I ate probably double the amount of pasta that I portioned out into my little dish. What can I say, I just have this thing about eating cold leftover pasta straight from its container. No resistance.

It was one of those gloomy all day days today, so therefore the perfect day for BAKING! And as soon as I read one of Tina‘s posts mentioning her Pumpkin-Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chip Muffins I knew right away that that was what I was going to make, especially considering I had all of the ingredients on hand and a big container of pumpkin opened a few days ago in my fridge that needs using up.
I only made a couple small changes: 1 tbsp of oil and 1.5 tbsp of unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 2 tbsp peanut butter since I didn’t have any peanut butter chocolate chips.

I also had to go with the Kraft pb rather than real stuff because I don’t have a great abundance of good pb left, so I didn’t want to use it all up. I think the pb got kind of lost in the mixture though, so next time I would either not bother putting it in, or put in probably double the amount. The turned out GREAT though, super tasty! I could eat em all in one sitting. Luckily I didn’t, and probably had a total of 1.5 today.
(I snacked on baby carrots while making these)

I was hungry for dinner super early today but I wanted to hold off, at least until a more reasonable time, so because I was feeling pretty tired I decided to have a nap. The nap ended up being two hours long, which was nice and refreshing. Although I really think I needed it because I’ve still been pretty tired since, when usually naps wake me right up.
It also killed most of my appetite so I wasn’t feeling like cooking up the stir fry that I had in mind. Instead I snacked on a bit more pasta straight from the container, and then had a slice of rye with some nutritional yeast paste left from yesterday and some guacamole.

This satisfied the little bit of appetite I had (although a stir fry would have been a much better choice after all this), but I wanted something sweet and I knew I had a bunch of frozen bananas just waiting to be eaten. So I mixed them with some vanilla yogurt and more of the rhubarb jam of course.

I also had this little concoction sitting in the fridge that I threw together a couple days ago. It’s PB Puffins, Cool Whip Free, yogurt and strawberries. I needed to get it out of there because it probably wouldn’t have been good much longer, so I just decided to eat it. Mixing this beforehand and letting it sit lets the puffins get mushy, so the combo kind of reminds me of a strawberry shortcake deal. Unfortunately I let this one sit a bit too long because it was a little too mushy for my liking.

So I made up for the mushiness by snacking on more dried Puffins. Because I somehow felt I needed to eat MORE food today. No wonder I’ve been feeling permanently bloated lately.

10 thoughts on “Oh Snacky Day

  1. Don’t stress too bad, it sounds like you mostly snacked on healthy things and maybe your body is telling you it needs more food. Either way, there’s no point beating yourself up over it though I know it’s hard not to do. Your muffins look fantastic. Have a great weekend

  2. Your day looks quite healthy to me! In terms of the pasta, hey, we all have a weakness, and you enjoyed eating it hot and cold- it’s not like you do this every day! You are such a healthy eater, so please try not to stress!

    In other news, that rhubarb jam sounds TO DIE FOR. Where did you get it?

  3. Nothing like a day of snacking. So good while you’re doing it. So bad when you get that bloated feeling when it’s over. So easy to do it over and over again. I’m right there with ya :)

  4. annaalstondonnelly – The rhubarb jam is actually homemade! I’m not quite sure if it can technically be classified as ‘jam’ because I’m fairly sure it’s just cooked up rhubarb and sugar (my mom made it so i’m not completely sure if anything else went into it or not). But it’s SO deelish :)

    Thanks everyone for all of your lovely comments!

  5. Ooo rhubarb jam! What’s it taste like? Saw some at the market the other day and was really curious!

    Mmm and your description of your PB puffins snack totally got me sold! I’m totally going to have to give it a try now!

Leave a Reply

