Maple Apple Oatmeal

I decided to make an apple-y oatmeal today to switch things up. I used to have oatmeal with cut up apple quite a bit in the past but I haven’t made it in a while, probably because I discovered how darn good bananas were in oatmeal, and haven’t really had the desire to go back. But today apples were my calling so this lovely dish was created.

I microwaved a small cut up apple with cinnamon and splenda while cooking up 1/3 cup of oats with some more cinnamon. Then I stirred in the apples with a splash of unsweetened almond milk. Once done, I topped it a mixture of vanilla yogurt and sugar free maple syrup. It was DELICIOUS. I’ll be making it again for sure.

For lunch I just had a salad with tomatoes, carrots, cabbage slaw, cucumber, spinach and avodaco, with a dressing of fat free sour cream, dijon mustard, balsamic vinegar and little bit of spicy hummus all mixed together. I also ate some rice crackers with avocado while making this.

4 thoughts on “Maple Apple Oatmeal

  1. The yogurt + maple syrup combo sounds so indulgent and yummy! Love how you paired that with apples and cinnamon! And I agree–once I discovered the wonders of banana oatmeal, apples just doesn’t seem to cut it so much!

Leave a Reply

