Downfalls and A New Outlook

Having some major weight issues at the moment. Being off school and therefore having copious amounts of time to do nothing is not good for me. Summer is clearly not good either. Over the course of the last several months I have put on 10 lbs. 10! That is a ridiculous amount of weight. But I know it’s because I have really procrastination issues and it is so easy to slack off when I have all the time in the world.

I think in a way though, I’m taking this weight gain as a positive thing. See, I had lost virtually all of my motivation over the summer, not having the desire to try to eat healthy or push myself to exercise. Don’t get me wrong, I still exercised almost everyday and ate relatively healthy compared to many, many people out there, but I didn’t go above and beyond like I used to. I didn’t try to fit in extra workout minutes, didn’t push myself past my comfort zone, slacked off on weight training. I would snack on foods that earlier I would never touch. But this weight gain has given me back some of that motivation. I’m now, once again, ready and willing to push myself. I see and set goals for myself and I’m ready to put in the work to achieve them.

I’ve started up the Couch-to-5k running plan to motivate myself to get on the treadmill and push myself past my comfort zone. I’m making a more conscious effort to get moving more often, do more strength training etc. I’m paying much more attention to what goes in my mouth and I make sure to record all of my daily calories.

I still have quite a bit of work to do, but I know that I will be able to get back down to the weight I was several months ago, and even further than that. I am confident that if I put in my best efforts and really push myself, I can get to where I want to be. I need to work a little harder on the getting moving part, just by incorporating more action into my day, which should be easier once school starts. I’ve grown heavily attached to my computer chair, which is seriously not helping with that. Must work on getting AWAY from the computer more often. I also need to work a little more on my eating habits and try to make slightly healthier choices with a little less snacking. I’m getting better though.

I’ve finally discovered how important goal setting is to weight loss and a healthy lifestyle change. I’ve been going through this journey without seriously thinking about goals, just kind of going with the flow and hoping to see results. That is not the way to do it. Now that I’ve started thinking about specific goals with my running program and deep desire to get these excess pounds off, it is really helping me to want to work harder.

I think I need to come up with some self rewarding system as well. The first thing I want to do is, once I get back down to my original earlier year weight of 125, I will go out and get another ear piercing, which is something I’ve wanted to do for a while now. After reaching that point I will have to think of a new goal reward.

Time to work it!

Leave a Reply

