Family Time Week

For the past week my grandparents were in town visiting. It was nice having them, they’re pretty darn cool people. With them in town we had several family dinners with aunts, uncles, cousins etc that live around here.

I didn’t take any pictures of the family dinner meals because pulling out the camera in front of a bunch of people just requires too much explaining and I wasn’t really feeling that. I did take pictures of much of what I ate in and around these meals though.

Ready for about a week’s worth of eats (with many many missing pieces)?Let’s do it up.

Monday

Grocery store sushi all the way.

032

I finished off this gigantor container and now I’m on cottage cheese hiatus. I haven’t had any in nearly a week now? We’ll see how long it continues…035

I made some Maple Nut Oaties! Only mine were honey nut oaties.

 077 083085

I used 1/4 cup honey instead of 1/2 cup maple syrup but they were a tad on the crumbly side so next time I’m going for the 1/2 cup maple. Still delicious though. I also only had sweetened coconut so I added a bit less of that, and I used slivered almonds and dried cranberries/raisins. Next time I’m going for the full amount of unsweetened coconut and going to try following the recipe to a tee. I want mine to be as delicious as Heather’s look.

116

I’ve eaten so many Nut Thins this week… 

094

Outside salads. The best way to eat em.

067

Veggie burger with GUAC. The burger fell apart on the grill. Oops.

098

Frozen berries, yogurt and flax. Best mix ever. When the berries slightly defrost  and get all melty squishy…mmm mmmmmm.

124

 

Tuesday

One day I made a very green Green Monster. I drank it with an Oatie.

002

Then I rocked the Green Monster moustache because I’m classy like that.

031

I also ate some banana with PB2 and found out that I love PB2 paired with banana.

053

Then eventually I ate a Thanksgiving type meal (we’re talking turkey, stuffing etc etc) since we’ve had a 15lb turkey in our freezer taking up valuable room since the winter and there was no better time to cook it up than when we had visiting family to help us eat it all. No pictures though. It wasn’t that pretty anyway.

There may have also been some apple pie consumption. Maybe.

Wednesday

My fruit yogurt cereal bowl is just glowing with early morning tastiness.

006004 

Lunch rocked out with the leftovers: spinach broccoli salad with shredded turkey and a side of oh-so-splendid stuffing. I’m glad that’s only available for me to eat a couple times a year…

014

Okay okay, so then I finished off the last wee piece of apple pie, topped with yogurt because it seemed like a good idea at the time (and it was).

026

OKAY, so I also finished off the last wee piece of Raspberry Layered Dessert. I hate when there are containers with hardly anything left in them sitting in the fridge! It is my duty to rid the poor fridge of these varmints, a duty I take very seriously.

028 036

Dinner was leftovers city. We cooked em allll up.
I had more spinach and broccoli salad, this time filled up with crumbled grilled veggie burger and dijonnaise. Plus a small plate of leftover mac+cheese, frozen vegs and bottom-of-the-pan potato scrapings.

041

Thursday

I pretty much snacked all day on Thursday.
I think it’s because I started off my day with a bowl of fruit and yogurt. Never a good way for me to start off my day. I always end up starving nearly right after and pretty much for the rest of the day when I do this. Drat. It was tasty though.

001 013

I lasted maybe an hour and then cracked out a granola bar.

019

And then just ended up digging into the cereal.

Finally I just ended up making an early lunch.
A mini hummus salsa wrap…

022

…and a plate of egg whites/ricotta/salsa.

025

And who knows what else. Probably a lot of fruit since I’ve eaten a ridiculous amount of that lately. I just never seem to take a picture of any of my fruit because it’s always right out of the fridge and into my stomach. No time for photo ops there.

Another MIA family dinner happened here too. It was finished off with the best rhubarb pie in all existence. I wish I had a picture of THAT. It was a moment worth remembering.

Friday

I started today off with some banana oats topped with strawberry yogurt, strawberries, Fiber One and Kashi Go Lean Crunch. I used to love mixing oatmeal with dry cereal. I don’t quite love it as much now. I think I prefer my oats without the crunch.

006 014

Then I bid my grandparents adieu as they are heading back to the great northern boonies where they reside today. Safe travels!

Then I did some cleaning and clothes sorting. Difficult stuff! I have way too many clothes and way too minimal drawer and closet space. This poses a challenge that I’m still trying to tackle with minimal success. Anyone else have more clothes than you know what to do with? How the heck do you store your clothes? I need closet organization tips haha.

Eventually it was Iced Coffee time.

029

And sometime later in the day it was spinach salad time. We don’t have a ton of veggie selection in the house right now, hence all of the spinach salads. Doesn’t bother me though, I could (and sometimes do…) eat spinach at every meal.

This one had spinach, broccoli, tomatoes, dijon mustard, balsamic vinegar, salsa and guacamole. What a yummy mess.

032

 

Anyway, I should call it quits there since this is plenty long enough and I’m worn out. I’m also completely thrown off this week, I can’t believe it’s Friday already! Next week I’m aiming for some serious clean me up eating since this week of big family dinners and plenty o pie has done me in.

I’ll be doing some blog reading catch up soon since I haven’t had much time for it this week. Hope you’re all doing well and have a great weekend!

23 thoughts on “Family Time Week

  1. Hot toe nail polish – I noticed it! Nice stache!

    I have never once in my life had a bite of rhubarb! I have no idea what it tastes like!! Good luck with the CC challenge :)

    I store my clothes in rainbow order and within that order they go from tanks to long sleeves – SO type A! Sounds like you had a great family week!!

  2. Nice green ‘stache ;)

    And why would you only want turkey dinner a few times a year?! I wish I could have it more often – I love turkey & all the fixings. Yum!

  3. wow this was quite the smorgasbord of a post! lots of yummy food, and good looking as well. love the stache, haha rock it girl! thanksgiving in may, that sounds good.. i love leftover turkey.. so many things you can do with it! those oatie things look really good, thanks for linking the recipe. oh and the spinach salad with guac caught my eye too. so much to take in on this post! loved it though. have a great weekend!

  4. Hahahaha I love that picture of you with green monster above your gorgeous pout! Your fam sounds super cool!
    P.S. I’m still coming up North in August and will be making my travel plans soon – I’ll be in touch!

  5. What great looking and sounding eats! I think you eat very healthfully and shouldn’t worry too much about the family dinners and pie. Every day should include some kind of treat in my opinion! Can’t wait to hear more from you. Have a great weekend!

  6. I would love to come up to Canada and help you with all those leftovers. Don’t even get me started on my love of stuffing. Definitely a good thing I only eat it once a year!

    Spinach at every meal? Me too, and I’m sorry you’re not liking your crunchy oats as much. The bowl sure looked pretty.

    Oh my gosh – hope this doesn’t sound creepy, but you have the most beautiful lips. Seriously – they look perfect.

    Fruit and yogurt and breakfast? Never holds me over either – I need some fat in the mornings or I’m starving an hour later.

    Your Oaties looked delicious to me. :)

  7. The fruit-yogurt breakfast combo doesn’t work for me at all either. I’m hungry about… three minutes after I finish eating it.

    I haven’t had a family dinner in awhile, unfortunately, but I lovvvve all the eats! Gotta live it up once in awhile, and then just get back on track afterward. I think it keeps us all sane. :)

    I have Heather’s oaties on my to-do list this afternoon. As per your suggestions, I think I’ll follow her recipe exactly, because I too was going to switch up the recipe a bit. Not anymore!!

    And grocery store sushi? Love that stuff. Love love love.

    • I think it changes every time I make it haha. I’ll try to make sure I post the ingredients each time I make them. Typically though mine include almond milk, frozen, banana, spinach and flax and then sometimes I’ll add whatever other fruits are hanging around the house, protein powder etc depending on what I’m feeling at the time.

  8. Yay for family time! I just saw my mom’s side of the family on Thursday… good times! “great northern boonies” makes me think of where my parents live (and where I’m originally from) – it’s sooo country!

    Your breakfast fruit bowl looks so yummy but I know what you mean about that type of breakfast. Even after oatmeal I’m hungry for lunch in 2-3 hours so fruit holds me over for about 1 at best!

  9. I think I’m gonna make those maple oaties today! They have been poppin’ up all over blogworld and I just can’t resists anymo!

    I am loving the green ‘stash of yours! Green monstas are so 2009 ;)

  10. Packing up my clothes a few days ago (to move out from the dorms) was HECTIC….way too many clothes to handle! Basically, go through all of it and decide what you truly never wear, then give those outfits away or toss em’! You’ll feel much CLEANER once you only have all the clothes you actually wear! :)

    I’m in love with apple pie, all heated up with some yogurt must have been so good…..it will always be a favorite!
    Your outdoor salad, oaties, green monster…. all looks delicious! And cute stash’ !

  11. Pingback: Mundane Musings « Lighter Portions
  12. Pingback: Get Yo Tan On « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

